“Dear Chick-Fil-A (Because I’m a Homosexual)”

14 Aug

A couple Wednesdays ago, you may have been angrily suppressing your craving for fried chicken.

And if you’re like me, you may have been happily singing “H to the O to the M to the HOMOSEXUALS” just a couple days later.

We can thank Bria Kam and Chrissy Chambers for that catchy phrase, the chorus to their YouTube song “Dear Chick-Fil-A (Because I’m a Homosexual).” The musical duo and IRL couple penned the song after seeing long lines at their local Chick-Fil-A on “Chick-Fil-A Appreciation Day,” a fabricated holiday to support a business that actively gives money to anti-gay foundations and political campaigns.

“We went to Chick-Fil-A on Wednesday, the customer appreciation day, just planning to go and kiss, and show our ‘protest’ that way,” said Bria Kam, a musician and psychology student at Georgia State. They left the fast food chain feeling energized and decided to use their creative energies to write the song, posting it online just 2 days later. In the age of YouTube, however, a viral video can propel you into de facto activist and/or anti-gay target status pretty quickly.

“We’ve gotten so much reaction,” said Chrissy Chambers, an actor and singer who moved to Atlanta when she was 18 to pursue her career. “In the beginning it seemed like a lot of negativity, and a lot of hateful comments. We had a guy say ‘you guys are a couple of trash-digging faggot psychopath homosexual whores. Cool, hope you get HIV bitch.'”

For Bria, releasing a controversial song like this on the Internet could pose risks for her livelihood. “I’m a cover musician and I’ve always kept my personal life very personal,” she said. “I play a lot of restaurants that are filled with people who are potentially close-minded – we do live in Georgia – so this is a big deal. Chrissy has helped me to know that its okay to be comfortable with myself and really put who I am out there.”

“Growing up in Mississippi I’ve experienced a lot of homophobia,” said Chrissy. “Once I started dating a woman I had so many people call and say ‘don’t you understand how this is going to hurt your family?’ and that they were embarrassed for me, people I’d known my whole life.”

But the effusion of supportive comments and messages has made this new spotlight worth it. “I’ve had at least five or six people that I’ve known from growing up in Mississippi and Louisiana that have come out to me and say ‘I hope one day I can live my life as openly as you are, and you have given me the courage to try to be true to myself’ and that kind of thing, which has been so incredibly rewarding.”

The duo plans to continue their activism through song, and half of the proceeds from the recorded version of “Dear Chick-Fil-A” (available for name-your-price download) are set to be given to Freedom to Marry. Meanwhile, they are encouraging young gay folks to continue to reach out to them.

“I absolutely think we consider ourselves activists,” said Bria. “This is a very new position for us, but it kind of fell into our laps and we’re very excited for this opportunity to be a voice for the gay community.”

Bria and Chrissy just released a third video, “I Have Two Moms” (there’s a kitten!). You can catch them elsewhere on the Internet here and here.

This post brought to you by Tara. It originally appeared on Campus Progress.org 

Leave a Reply

