Can you just, run into the store and buy me tampons?

9 Aug

In this experiment, a girl has left her bike lock at home and asks male passers-by to run into the drug store and buy her some tampons. See the hilarious, and eye-opening, lengths people go to in order to avoid the embarrassment of buying tampons.

I remember when I first got my period. I was 13, I was slightly confused (even though I had been waiting for that moment for like, an entire year since all my friends already got theirs.) I didn’t know how to properly insert tampons, so I just gave up, frustrated. But that’s all besides the point. The point is when I was in my young teens, my dad would very graciously go to the store and buy me pads and stuff. My dad didn’t give a shit about whether buying tampons would be emasculating, because in reality, he was being a good father, and a good father is a good man. The manliest of men, I should say.

(Side Note: These UbyKotex videos are pretty awesome. More to follow)

This brought to you by Tara, who thanks her father for being awesome, and her friend Arthur for showing her this video.

6 Responses to “Can you just, run into the store and buy me tampons?”

  1. Alan August 9, 2011 at 10:31 am #

    I liked “I’d Rather Watch The Bike” Guy until she nails him with “You can’t say ‘tampons’?”

  2. Laura August 9, 2011 at 11:26 am #

    My dad also buys tampons. He has no problem buying them for my mom, that is true love 🙂

  3. Ms. V August 9, 2011 at 2:20 pm #

    That was hilarious. Justin totally buys tampons for me.

  4. Ms. V August 9, 2011 at 2:20 pm #

    Also, go BIG KARL

  5. Maureen August 9, 2011 at 11:18 pm #

    Love good men. My husband bought me the wrong pads, only once-3 years ago, and never got it wrong again. Love.

  6. Seriously... August 26, 2011 at 12:47 pm #

    Why is this even an issue. I bet 40% of people would be uncomfortable buying a complete stranger condoms also, or anything. I wouldn’t buy a stranger anything because they didn’t have a bike lock.

    Also who cares if somebody won’t buy tampons, that clearly means they have no respect for women right….again what is even the point of stuff like this. To make funny videos that try to make women look “less equal” it all made up statistics anyways.

Leave a Reply

