Put on your shades ’cause I’ll be dancin’ in the flames

1 Jun

Tonight, yeah baby. Tonight, yeah baby.

Rolling Stone image/posted on gagadaily.com

Unless you live under a rock, I’m sure you know that Lady Gaga’s album Born This Way was released last Monday, May 23. I’ve had over a week to become familiar with the album so that I could effectively convey my feelings about it. I’m not writing to compare it to any other artist (or to engage in a war that I may or may not have been challenged to); just writing to express my views.

The best part about expressing my views? You can agree or disagree. Not everyone likes Gaga; to each their own. Rachel may think that it’s bad music, but she’s totally right about Gaga’s message being along the lines of “YOU ARE SPECIAL. I AM SPECIAL. LETS LOVE EACH OTHER…” If you don’t like it, don’t listen. Try to understand, though, that that is just the message some people need to hear everyday. I know I do. I love the new album. Who cares about professional reviews? If the music speaks to you, some critic’s bad review doesn’t take away an artist’s strength or the feeling you get when you listen to music that moves you.

I don’t always have the best self-confidence and I don’t believe in God, but when I walk down the streets of DC with Gaga singing, “I’m beautiful in my way ‘cause God makes no mistakes,” I feel powerful. Energized. Motivated. Nothing can touch me and no one can stop me. Just love yourself, and you’re set.

In my eyes, and in the eyes of all of her little monsters, she is a symbol of acceptance and empowerment. You might find that hokey or cheesy, but I am so grateful for her ability to write music and lyrics so absurd and so honest and so upfront that I feel my guard come down. She’s imaginative and creative. She does whatever the fuck she wants and is unapologetic. Because, as she sings in Sheiße, “If you’re a strong female, you don’t need permission.” Preach.

Gaga encourages you to love yourself, regardless of your sexuality, gender, race, whatever. She proclaims female strength.  And talk about owning your sexuality? “I want your whiskey mouth all over my blond south,” she breathes at the beginning of Heavy Metal Lover. HOT DAMN.

What does Born this Way say to me? Human emotions don’t always make sense. Everyone has days where they need to feel empowered. We all make mistakes; we can all be Bad Kids. Sexuality is natural. Love can make us all vulnerable. Gaga, at age 25, understands all of this (and a hell of a lot of other things that I haven’t figured out yet at 23). She is able to put these ideas, her feelings, and her fears to words. Sometimes they words straightforward; sometimes they’re in another language. But the emotion in her voice is always discernible.

She’s a performance artist and whether her various mediums and works are recycled or brand new or whatever, she combines them all in such a way to present a cohesive message of love and sex and hope and freedom. Attention? She has attention. That’s not what this is about – Lady Gaga is about being her fucking self and showing the rest of us that it’s okay to be ourselves, too. It’s okay to dream big and live everyday and to want love and acceptance. It’s okay to embrace your imagination and appreciate your friends. I’m on The Edge of Glory. I was born this way. (And I’m still a free bitch, baby.)

This post was brought to you by Dawn, who is followin’ that unicorn on the road to love.

Leave a Reply

