Screw Mother’s Day. (straight from the mouth of a mother)

8 May

I can’t take it anymore and I have to get something off my chest; Mother’s Day is bullshit. And this is straight from the mouth of a mother.

I am so over the targeted jewelry commercials, overly sentimental e-cards, and reinforced societal stereotypes regarding who or what makes a good mom. If I made a compilation of all of the ridiculously offensive Mother’s Day advertisements, this post would never end. Aside from the fact that most of the commercials show mothers either taking care of household chores or tending to kids, my personal favorites are the ones that suggest we are simplistic, one-dimensional beings who will fall over for shiny, new jewelry like a dog for a sausage.

Is this really the one day out of the year you’re supposed to pay homage to the woman who brought you into this world (or take you out of it if you piss her off enough)?

I went through 31 hours of a drug-free labor; breast fed for a year and was a stay at home mom for two. I also know many women who did none of the above and they are still awesome. Why is there a day to glorify those who chose to have children and ostracize those who don’t?

My son is one of the best parts of my life and motherhood is both a harrowing and hilarious journey that will never end. It’s not easy, but nothing in life ever is.

I don’t want a medal, and I surely don’t want one day of appreciation.

So what DO I want? What I want are small tokens of appreciation year round. Like for my husband to bring me flowers just because (check). Or to hear the phrase “Mommy, you’re so wonderful, I’ll always be your baby,” (check). That’s all I need. Ok, perhaps throw in a lifetime supply of stretch mark removal cream and we’re all set. But what I don’t need is a ‘day off’ from mommy duties. Because who says things like cooking dinner, doing laundry and wiping asses are just ‘mommy duties’ anyways?

But enough about me.

Do you really love your mom? Send her a someecard once a week because you’re thinking of her. Or, call her out of the blue and tell her you love her. Perhaps buy her something you think she will adore. Want to get fancy? Surprise her with an all expense paid trip to Tahiti. Ok, that last one may be a bit far fetched, but seriously, show respect and be great to your mom ALL the time.

Moms and Dads should be celebrated year round and not just in the months of May and June because Hallmark and Zales command us to. In addition, grandparents, brothers, sisters, and anyone else who means something to you should be appreciated as well.

So no, I do not want to go to a crowded Outback Steakhouse and receive a piece of crappily marketed jewelry and a stupid Hallmark card that reads what an awesome mom I am. I know I’m an awesome mom and I don’t need a commercially contrived ‘holiday’ to tell me so.

This post brought to you by Maureen.

One Response to “Screw Mother’s Day. (straight from the mouth of a mother)”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. #mydadgetsnocallbecause « mislabeled - June 20, 2011

    […] NOT stand for in a partner. Face it, a lot of people have absentee dad (or mom) issues. Considering my Mothers Day post was pretty snarky, I wanted to stay away from a Dad’s Day one. BUT I must say that my husband is the best […]

Leave a Reply

