Old videos of talented young stars trump Osama bin Laden’s death in my book

3 May

Today started out like any other day. Even though I left the house earlier than usual, I still missed the bus and was still late(r than I wanted to be) to work.

Who knows why or how these things happen, but they do. Just like how I came upon Jackie Evancho, the pre-pubescent angelic angel of an angel that she is. Maybe if I was a prime time television viewer I may have known about Miss Evancho several months ago, as she was the runner up in the fifth season of America’s Got Talent.

But anyway, holy shit. She’s 11. aka, she was born in the year 2000.

There’s a lot of interesting things we could talk about in regard you young female stars and the effect of pre-pubescent stardom has on their adolescence and future lives  (Lindsay Lohan, Britney Spears) Or about the virginal, angelic image of Jackie Evancho vs. the hyper-sexualization of other young stars.

But I’m not going to. Because just in the nick of time, the YouTube gods beckoned me with the suggestion of this:

OH MY GOD, cue the waterworks, this little girl is the most adorable thing I’ve ever seen. And when her dad says “I’m so proud of you!” and she says “Thank you, Daddy!” omg omg omg.

As is our general philosophy, “When life gives you lemons, look at cute things” – this was a much needed overdose of cute to combat my unsettled feelings over the death of Osama bin Laden and the subsequent reactions.

This post brought to you by Tara.

One Response to “Old videos of talented young stars trump Osama bin Laden’s death in my book”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Selena Gomez is a BAMF « mislabeled - May 6, 2011

    […] SEE THAT NICKI VIDEO?? I never want to stop listening to that song. And then (once again from the YouTube gods) came […]

Leave a Reply

