Be the Change.

26 Apr

I had read a few things about the heinous event that took place at a Baltimore McDonald’s last week, but I hadn’t watched the video; I hadn’t educated myself on what actually happened.

Then I received the Change.org petition, started by Adrian Leigh, demanding that the McDonald’s employees who stood by, encouraged, and filmed the event be held responsible.

I watched the video.

And then I distracted myself because I couldn’t find words. I couldn’t deal. Who am I to avoid this issue? Who am I to not be able to deal with this?

If you’re still asking yourself, What?! then let me back up a second. A 22-year-old trans woman was beaten mercilessly after attempting to use the restroom. The video is all over the internet at this point, if you feel that you are able to watch it. It is one of the hardest things I’ve watched. It brought tears to my eyes and I winced with every blow.

I can’t even begin to imagine the pain that this young woman experienced. Physically. Emotionally. The pain that so many people must feel everyday. The world has seen this inexcusable hate crime and is demanding that those responsible be held accountable. But how many of these crimes go unseen? Unreported?

How the fuck can we claim to live in a country where everyone is free to pursue happiness? I can’t even comprehend what could drive people to such atrocious actions. Such hatred. Such violence.

I wish I had something profound or intelligent to say about this…I wish that there was something that could make it never have happened; to make it never happen again. What can we do? We can do more than sign petitions. We can talk about these issues. We can vow that we will not just stand by and let these things happen right in front of our eyes.

We’re all in this together. What does hate accomplish? Spread the love.

This post was brought to you by Dawn who accepts all of you for who you are.

2 Responses to “Be the Change.”

  1. Tara April 26, 2011 at 10:52 am #

    Here’s a great follow up story by WAMU – lots of support. Its so heartbreaking that it takes a horrific act like this to create awareness and community cohesion.

    http://wamu.org/news/11/04/26/baltimore_transgender_beating_may_yield_hate_crime_charges.php

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. When the world gets you down… « mislabeled - April 26, 2011

    […] know we love Boo, but sometimes, you need more than picture. When the world starts beating up people in McDonald’s and politicians tell Floridians that men are being neutered, you just have to […]

Leave a Reply

