I Heart Mick Foley

14 Apr

He’ll mow your lawn for charity. He’s the “unlikely feminist.” He’s Mankind. And he’s toooootttaaalllly adorable. I mean, I think this guy is SEXY.

My crush on Mick Foley began a few months back when I attended a RAINN (Rape, Abuse and Incest National Network) fundraiser with my friend Jacob. Mick has been a huge advocate for RAINN, and *might* be able to stake claim as their #1 volunteer, logging in hundreds of hours on their sexual assault online hotline, helping turn victims of abuse and violence into survivors.  He’s currently touring/working on a sweet fundraiser for them right now, called the #10forRAINN campaign, in which he will match any donation up to $10,000 (plus he’ll throw in that lawn mowing if you donate 5,000 smackers!). RIGHT?

He recently appeared on FOX News’s Red Eye, defending the Toronto Slut-walk and openly denouncing victim-blaming and slut-shaming. Here’s a clip of what he’s got to say:


 
My heart explodes for this guy. He is the epitome of a man’s man (big, burley, bearded, wears flannel) and a protector of the ladies. I know that most of the time I would say something sassy like “I don’t need a man to protect me!” or whatever, but I really wouldn’t mind having Mick Foley around. I wish I could say I had the same respect for Demi & Ashton’s Real Men campaign, which only perpetuates stereotypical hyper-masculinity and although their videos are star-studded and entertaining (with grrrreat elevator music), they don’t offer much in the way of substance or solution.


 
Can we start a Feminists for Foley fan club?? It’ll be way better than the time in my high school government class when I ran a campaign to be president of the Vin Diesel fan club. (What was I thinking?) (Actually, who am I kidding? I loved Vin. I was 15.)

This post brought to you by Tara, who once went to a WWF wrestling match? 

Leave a Reply

