Things I am doing to distract myself from the insane news coverage of the government shutdown (aka food blogs I’m reading and what I want to eat)

8 Apr

By now you’ve probably heard that the government is probably shutting down by midnight tonight. And you’ve also probably heard that its because of Planned Parenthood and abortion funding (which seems asinine because federal funds do not support abortions in the United States under the Hyde Amendment). But I live in Washington, DC, and yeah, sometimes it’s fun and all that, but I have been debating this whole shutdown thing all week and I have a serious headache with all of the insane partisan (buzzword alert!) rhetoric – with members on both sides of the aisle shouting to SHUT IT DOWN.

So I don’t want to talk about it. Instead, I want to talk about how much I want to be this couple and make beautiful food art. Or how my bff is pregnant and her baby shower is coming up. Or look at design blogs. But mostly I want to read food blogs.  Actually, all the time I want to read food blogs. And you know who has a great list of food blogs? Gwyneth Paltrow! I know! GOOP!

Here’s some of the things I’m salivating over today:

Homemade Butter (from Design Sponge)

(side bar: I’m trying to convince my preggo friend to make butter and things out of her breastmilk – you know that shit’s chic.)

Artichoke Ravioli with Tomatoes (from smitten kitchen)

And because I am a fiend for the weekend and a possible brunch-a-holic,

Baked Eggs with Spinach and Tomatoes (from Real Simple)

…if only I had a kitchen with decent lighting and counter space…

This post brought to you by Tara, who still has to go to work even if the gov’t shuts down

2 Responses to “Things I am doing to distract myself from the insane news coverage of the government shutdown (aka food blogs I’m reading and what I want to eat)”

  1. Jaime VanEnkevort April 8, 2011 at 7:59 pm #

    haha yes! that food looks soooo good; it makes me want to actually chef more instead of letting Justin do it all. Which, speaking of, he’s also catering le bebe shower. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. INTERVIEW: Filmmaker Matthew Charof on the Women of Riverbook « mislabeled - April 28, 2011

    […] for these women. One of my favorite things about Riverbrook is their nutrition program. (Of course, you know I love food) Women at Riverbrook are enabled to make their own choices about their individual diet and exercise […]

Leave a Reply

